TAHU Hollis Roberson Award

    Hollis Roberson

    1922 - 1989

    Hollis Roberson, CLU, FLMI, RHU, held a BS from the University of North Alabama, an MBA from Auburn University and an MS from Southern Methodist University.  Mr. Roberson served the insurance industry in the capacity of life insurance company president, chief actuary and owner of his own agency.  He served NAHU tirelessly first as Membership Chairman in 1986-87 and Region IVVice President in 1986-87.  He was elected First Vice President in 1988. Hollis directed the strategic planning committees for NAHU, Texas AHU, Fort Worth AHU and Dallas AHU.  He published many articles and spoke to numerous health and life underwriter organizations.  Hollis Roberson was the 1989 recipient of the Norman Medill Award for editorial contribution from NAHU. He was listed in

    Who's Who in Insurance in the South-Southwest.  Hollis was the first recipient of the Hollis Roberson Award in 1989, which was established in his honor. 

    Hollis died of cancer at the age of 67 on December 16, 1989, at his home in Rowlett, Texas.  He was president-elect of NAHU at the time of his death.

    The Texas Association of Health Underwriters' Hollis Roberson Award is presented each year to the person from Texas who meets the criteria of professionalism set forth by Hollis Roberson.

    The recipient of the award is selected by the Hollis Roberson Award Committee which carefully reviews all persons nominated.  In making its selection, the committee looks for contributions above and beyond the call of duty, without personal gain.  Your recommendations must be supported by an accompanying statement that details the accomplishments of your candidate to include present and former positions, connections with health insurance, biographical information and, of utmost importance, the specific accomplishments that entitle your candidate to this prestigious award. 

    Please note: only state board members (which includes local chapter presidents) and Hollis Roberson Committee members can submit nominations.

    Previous Recipients

    1989            Hollis Roberson, CLU, FLMI, RHU

    1990            Edna Kern, CLU, ChFC, RHU, LUTCF

    1991            Donna Carnall, RHU

    1992            Robert G. Campbell, Jr.

    1993            Shirley H. Hutzler

    1994            Thomas M. Schilling, RHU

    1995           Henry Dawson,CLU, RHU

    1996            Phillip Von Stephens, RHU

    1997            Andrew M. Wolfson

    1998            Elizabeth Ashmore

    1999            W. D. (Bill) Mann, Sr., LUTCF, RHU

    2000           Ouida Peterson

    2001            Ken Martin

    2002           Jackie L. Spragins, RHU

    2003          Caroline Hesseltine, RHU 

    2004          Jim Smith

    2005         Trei Wild

    2006         Stan Foster, RHU

    2007         David B. Prewitt, LUTCF, RHU, REBC, CSA, LTCIS, CSS

    2008         Janet Trautwein

    2009         Linda J. New, LUTCF

    2010         Mike McLaughlin, RHU, CLU, CIC, ChFC

    2011         C. Briscoe Dunn

    2012         Carolyn L. Goodwin, CBC, SGS

    2013         Ron Buffum

    2014         Mike Rivera

    2015         Mike Smith

    2016         Rusty Rice, SGS

    2017         C. Louanne Trebing, RHU, CLCT, SGS